12 comments on “

  1. This is interesting to know. My first book “How Orples Came To Be” is published through Strategic Publishing and is currently available through Barnes and Nobles, as well as Amazon. I wonder if B&N will quit carrying that book because the next two books in the series are published directly through Amazon channels? Hmmm. Oh, well, I think I’d do better with Amazon anyway. At least Amazon leaves a little room for the author to make a little profit on their work, and still sell at a cheaper price to the public, which I would think would increase sales somewhat. I think it will all balance out in the end. 🙂 Time will tell.

    • Barnes and Noble seem to have an uppity attitude that not doubt, with the book store crisis, will do them out of needed business. They need to get their noses out of the clouds.

      • I think Amazon is going to leave Barnes and Nobles in the dust. Amazon is author friendly and they’re smart enough to leave room for the author to make money, which is more than I can say for Strategic Publishing. I love working with Amazon to date, so If I have to forfeit B&N … boo,hoo, for them.

      • Another place to put your ebook is on Smashwords. I have sold a few books there, but as with Amazon, it’s a matter of getting the word out there. If you haven’t tried it yet, Twitter is also a good place to advertise your books.

      • I don’t have a twitter account yet, but do plan to look into it. I wanted to get all three of my books (to date) out, so they truly are considered a series. Thus my focus has been there for the time being. I have the e-book on KDP’s loan plan, so I think I have to remain exclusive with them (in e-book format) for the first 90 days. Again, thanks for the head’s up.

      • What’s nice about a Twitter account, is that you can set it up so that all of your wordpress posts also go to twitter at pretty much the same time. I actually set up my twitter account before I did my wordpress blogs. But if I remember correctly, it isn’t very difficult to set up.

      • I’m sure it is not hard to do, my thing is time and going in too many directions at once, then getting overwhelmed by it all. So I try not to put myself under too much stress. Things will unfold in their own time. Right now, I’m waiting for my 3rd prototype to arrive for approval. Once that happens and I turn it over to KDP to turn it into an e-book, I’ll be focusing more on marketing. In the meantime, I do appreciate your pointers, and I will share any information with you, that I run across, that might prove helpful. You never know which key will fit the door. 🙂

      • This is so true and I understand about not getting to a place where I feel overwhelmed. Not only am I trying to promote my book, but I am working on several new stories and my daughter and son are both getting married this summer, one in July and the other one in August. So, I am working on making mother’s dresses for me to wear to them.

  2. Wow, it’s a small world, Ledia. My youngest son is getting married on July 14th. He and his lady have been together for about 7 years now, and even have a successful (and growing) internet business together already. 🙂 Congrats to both of your kids. I’m surprised, since their wedding dates are so close together, that they are not doing a double wedding. I know you must be pulling your hair out with all of those plans coming up so quickly.

    • Thank you. Congratulations to you as well. My daughter is getting married July 15th so it really is a small world. Her wedding is in Las Vegas. My son’s is near home, in Houston. There is a lot to do, but it’s fun too. I’m just so busy that I really only have time to eat and sleep. Right now, I’m kind of watching a Netflix movie. I’m so tired that I’m really only listening to it.

So, what do you think? I'd love to hear from you!

